MINUTES OF THE ACADEMIC SENATE OF QUEENS COLLEGE Kiely Hall room 170

1. The first meeting of the thirty-second session of the Queens College Academic Senate was convened at 3:55 p.m. by the Chairman of the Elections Committee, Professor Manuel Sanudo, Holder of the Chair, pro tempore.

The Holder of the Chair, pro tempore, announced that divisions will now caucus for the purpose of filling Senate vacancies.

2. MOTION: Duly made (Pecoraro):

"To adopt the Elections Committee Report."

The Holder of the Chair, pro tempore, reported the following amendments to the Report:

a.	Department	Delegate		Alternate	
	Family, Nutrition & Exercise Sciences Graduate School of Library &	Elizabeth Lowe	2 yr.	Ashima Kant	2 yr.
	Information Studies	Mary Kay Cheltor	n 2 yr.	Shelly Warwick	2 yr.
	Linguistics & Communication Disorders Media Studies Philosophy	Stanley Gelfand Mara Einstein Fred Purnell	2 yr. 2 yr. 2 yr.	Michael Newman Susan Macmillan Steven Grover	2 yr. 2 yr. 2 yr.

The election results of the caucuses were:

College Wide Delegate: Nancy Hemmes – 2 yr.

The Elections Committee Report was adopted, as amended.

3. The Chair, pro tempore, accepted nominations for Holder of the Chair.

The following faculty members were nominated: Nancy Hemmes

Seeing no further nominations, the Chair, pro tempore, asked the Secretary "to cast one ballot for the nominee."

- 4. The Chair appointed Dave Fields as Parliamentarian. Mr. Fields accepted.
- 5. The Chair accepted nominations for Deputy Holder of the Chair.

The following students were nominated: Justin Engel

Seeing no further nominations, the Chair asked the Secretary "to cast one ballot for the nominee."

6. The Chair accepted nominations for Secretary.

The following faculty were nominated: Thomas Bird

Seeing no further nominations, the Chair asked the Secretary "to cast one ballot for the nominee."

ACADEMIC SENATE MINUTES, May 10, 2001

7. Nominations to fill the remaining four faculty seats on the Executive Committee.

The following faculty were nominated to the Executive Committee:

Izabella Taler, Roberta Brody, Mark Miksic, Ronald Lawson

Seeing no further nominations, the Chair asked the Secretary "to cast one ballot for the nominees."

8. Nominations to fill the remaining two student seats on the Executive Committee.

The following students were nominated to the Executive Committee:

Michael Favilla, Donald Passantino

Seeing no further nominations, the Chair asked the Secretary "to cast one ballot for the nominees."

- 9. Nominations to the Nominating Committee:
 - a. The following faculty were nominated:

Christopher Vickery – Math & Natural Sciences (to 2003) Shoshana Kaufmann – At Large (to 2003) Mary Bushnell – Education (to 2003)

Seeing no further nominations, the Chair asked the Secretary "to cast one ballot for the nominees."

b. The following students were nominated for the Education seat:

Michelle Estrada (to 2003)

Seeing no further nominations, the Chair asked the Secretary "to cast one ballot for the nominee."

c. The following students were nominated for the Arts & Humanities seat:

Ronit Lindenblatt (to 2003)

Seeing no further nominations, the Chair asked the Secretary "to cast one ballot for the nominee."

d. The following students were nominated for the Social Sciences seat:

Katherine Grossman, Marina Kruglova

The following student was elected:

Katherine Grossman (to 2003)

10. MOTION: Duly made (Pecoraro), seconded, and passed:

"To adjourn."

Meeting adjourned at 4:20 p.m. A reception followed in the Dining Hall QC Lounge.