MINUTES OF THE ACADEMIC SENATE OF QUEENS COLLEGE Kiely Hall room 170

- 1. The first meeting of the thirty-third session of the Queens College Academic Senate was convened at 3:50 p.m. by the Chairman of the Elections Committee, Professor Manuel Sanudo, Holder of the Chair, pro tempore.
- 2. MOTION: Duly made (Pecoraro):

"To approve the Elections Committee Report."

The Holder of the Chair, pro tempore, reported the following amendments to the Report:

a.	Department	Delegate		Alternate	
	Anthropology Classical, Middle Eastern & Asian	James Moore	2 yr.	Larissa Swedell	2 yr.
	Languages & Cultures	William McClure	2 yr.	Joel Lidov	2 yr.
	Educational & Community Programs	Terrence Quinn	2 yr.	Lynn Howell	2 yr.

- b. On page 3, A. Day Student Academic Senate, the three Alternates had 16 votes.
- c. On page 4, B. Evening Academic Senate, Delegate Marina Kruglova should be 3, not 2.

The Elections Committee Report was approved, as amended.

3. The Chair, pro tempore, accepted nominations for Holder of the Chair.

The following faculty members were nominated: Elizabeth Lowe

Seeing no further nominations, the Chair, pro tempore, asked the Secretary "to cast one ballot for the nominee."

- 4. The Chair asked Dave Fields to be Parliamentarian. Mr. Fields accepted.
- 5. The Chair read a resolution of appreciation for Russell K. Hotzler (see Attachment A).
- 6. The Chair accepted nominations for Deputy Holder of the Chair

The following students were nominated: Michael Favilla

Seeing no further nominations, the Chair asked the Secretary "to cast one ballot for the nominee."

7. The Chair accepted nominations for Secretary

The following faculty were nominated: Nancy Hemmes

Seeing no further nominations, the Chair asked the Secretary "to cast one ballot for the nominee."

8. Nominations to fill the remaining four faculty seats on the Executive Committee

The following faculty were nominated to the Executive Committee:

Mark Miksic, Izabella Taler, Charles Smith, Roberta Brody, Thomas Bird

8. continued

The following faculty were elected:

Mark Miksic, Izabella Taler, Roberta Brody, Thomas Bird

9. Nominations to fill the remaining two student seats on the Executive Committee

The following students were nominated to the Executive Committee:

Donald Passantino, Shih Wan Kong

Seeing no further nominations, the Chair asked the Secretary "to cast one ballot for the nominees."

- 10. Nominations to the Nominating Committee
 - a. The following faculty were nominated:

Michael Newman – Arts & Humanities (to 2004) Marcia Bayne-Smith – Social Sciences (to 2004)

Seeing no further nominations, the Chair asked the Secretary "to cast one ballot for the nominees."

b. The following students were nominated for the Math & Natural Science seat:

Valbona Baci, Aaron Kwai

The following student was elected:

Valbona Baci (to 2004)

c. The following students were nominated for the At Large seat:

Mary Ellen Passantino (to 2004)

Seeing no further nominations, the Chair asked the Secretary "to cast one ballot for the nominee."

11. MOTION: Duly made (Pecoraro), seconded, and passed:

"To adjourn."

Meeting adjourned at 4:20 p.m. A reception followed in the Dining Hall QC Lounge.