1. The first meeting of the thirty-fifth session of the Queens College Academic Senate was convened at 3:47 p.m. by a member of the Elections Committee, Professor Subash Gandhi, Holder of the Chair pro tempore.

The Chair pro tempore appointed Dave Fields as Parliamentarian pro tempore.

2. MOTION: Duly made:

"To adopt the Elections Committee Report."

The Holder of the Chair pro tempore reported the following amendments to the Report:

Department	Delegate		Alternate	
Secondary Education	Jennifer Eddy	2 yr.	Arthur Costigan	2 yr.
Linguistics & Comm. Disorders	Stanley Gelfand	2 yr.	Phillip Schneider	2 yr.

The Elections Committee Report was adopted, as amended.

3. The Chair pro tempore accepted nominations for Holder of the Chair.

The following faculty members were nominated: Elizabeth Lowe

Seeing no further nominations, the Chair pro tempore asked the Secretary to cast one ballot for the nominee.

- 4. The Chair appointed Dave Fields as Parliamentarian. Mr. Fields accepted.
- 5. The Chair accepted nominations for Deputy Holder of the Chair.

The following students were nominated: Elliot Schimel

Seeing no further nominations, the Chair asked the Secretary to cast one ballot for the nominee.

6. The Chair accepted nominations for Secretary.

The following faculty were nominated: Thomas Bird

Seeing no further nominations, the Chair asked the Secretary to cast one ballot for the nominee.

7. Nominations to fill the remaining four faculty seats on the Executive Committee.

The following faculty were nominated to the Executive Committee:

Mark Miksic, Barbara Moore, Emilio DeTorre, Wayne Svoboda

Seeing no further nominations, the Chair asked the Secretary to cast one ballot for the nominees.

## **ACADEMIC SENATE MINUTES, May 13, 2004**

8. Nominations to fill the remaining two student seats on the Executive Committee.

The following students were nominated to the Executive Committee:

Joseph Bernstein, Sara Werner

Seeing no further nominations, the Chair asked the Secretary to cast one ballot for the nominees.

- 9. Nominations to the Nominating Committee:
  - a. The following faculty were nominated:

Marcia Bayne Smith – Social Sciences (to 2006) Michael Newman – Arts & Humanities (to 2006)

Seeing no further nominations, the Chair asked the Secretary to cast one ballot for the nominees.

b. The following students were nominated for the At Large seat:

Alissa Levine

Seeing no further nominations, the Chair asked the Secretary to cast one ballot for the nominee.

10. MOTION: Duly made, seconded, and passed:

"To adjourn."

Meeting adjourned at 3:57 p.m. A reception followed in the Student Union, room 304.