- 1. The first meeting of the thirty-sixth session of the Queens College Academic Senate was convened at 3:48 p.m. by Professor Manuel Sanudo, Holder of the Chair pro tempore.
- 2. MOTION: Duly made:

"To adopt the Elections Committee Report."

The Holder of the Chair pro tempore reported the following amendments to the Report:

- 1. On page 1.a, under Music, cross out Mark Anson-Cartwright. He was elected in another division.
- 2. On page 1.a, under Philosophy, the Delegate is Stephen Grover (2 yr.), the Alternate is Fred Purnell (2 yr.).
  - 3. On page 2, under the Social Sciences Division, cross out Ruth Frisz; she is Student Personnel Delegate.

The Elections Committee Report was adopted, as amended.

3. The Chair pro tempore accepted nominations for Holder of the Chair.

The following faculty members were nominated: Elizabeth Lowe

Seeing no further nominations, the Chair pro tempore asked the Secretary to cast one ballot for the nominee.

- 4. The Chair asked Dave Fields to be Parliamentarian. Mr. Fields accepted.
- 5. The Chair accepted nominations for Deputy Holder of the Chair.

The following students were nominated: Joseph Bernstein

Seeing no further nominations, the Chair asked the Secretary to cast one ballot for the nominee.

6. The Chair accepted nominations for Secretary.

The following faculty were nominated: Thomas Bird

Seeing no further nominations, the Chair asked the Secretary to cast one ballot for the nominee.

7. Nominations to fill the remaining four faculty seats on the Executive Committee.

The following faculty were nominated to the Executive Committee:

Emilio DeTorre, Mark Miksic, Barbara Moore

Seeing no further nominations, the Chair asked the Secretary to cast one ballot for the nominees.

There is one OPEN faculty seat.

## **ACADEMIC SENATE MINUTES, May 12, 2005**

8. Nominations to fill the remaining two student seats on the Executive Committee.

The following students were nominated to the Executive Committee:

Sarah Lippman, Madiha Zafar

Seeing no further nominations, the Chair asked the Secretary to cast one ballot for the nominees.

- 9. Nominations to the Nominating Committee:
  - a. The following faculty were nominated:

Christopher Vickery – Math & Natural Sciences (to 2007)

Seeing no further nominations, the Chair asked the Secretary to cast one ballot for the nominee.

There are two OPEN faculty seats.

b. The following students were nominated:

Taef Rahman – Social Sciences (to 2007) Ahmad Yousufzai – At Large (to 2006) Mitchell Wyllins – Arts & Humanities (to 2007)

Seeing no further nominations, the Chair asked the Secretary to cast one ballot for the nominees.

There is one OPEN student seat.

10. MOTION: Duly made, seconded, and passed:

"To adjourn."

Meeting adjourned at 3:58 p.m. A reception followed in the Student Union, room 403.