- 1. The first meeting of the thirty-seventh session of the Queens College Academic Senate was convened at 3:50 p.m. by Professor Manuel Sanudo, Holder of the Chair pro tempore.
- 2. MOTION: Duly made:

"To adopt the Elections Committee Report."

The Holder of the Chair pro tempore reported the following amendments to the Report:

- 1. On page 1, under Drama, Theatre & Dance, cross out Dallas McCurley as Delegate and enter Susan Matthews.
- 2. On page 1.a, under Mathematics, cross out Gerald Itzkowitz as Delegate and enter Russell Miller.
- 3. On page 1.a, under Sociology, cross out Milton Mankoff and Alem Habtu and enter Dean Savage as Delegate and Pyong Gap Min as Alternate.

The amended Elections Committee Report was adopted unanimously.

3. The Chair pro tempore accepted nominations for Holder of the Chair.

The following faculty members were nominated: Dean Savage

Dean Savage was elected Holder of the Chair by unanimous consent.

4. The Chair accepted nominations for Deputy Holder of the Chair.

The following students were nominated: Moumita Zaman

Moumita Zaman was elected Deputy Holder of the Chair by unanimous consent.

5. The Chair accepted nominations for Secretary.

The following faculty were nominated: Thomas Bird

Thomas Bird was elected Secretary by unanimous consent.

6. Nominations to fill the remaining four faculty seats on the Executive Committee.

The following faculty were nominated to the Executive Committee:

Emilio De Torre, Elizabeth Lowe, Barbara Moore, and Timothy Pugh

Seeing no further nominations, the Chair asked the Secretary to cast one ballot for the nominees.

7. Nominations to fill the remaining two student seats on the Executive Committee.

The following students were nominated to the Executive Committee:

Dylan Jodah, Jonathan Gilad, Diana Robinson, Chikodi Emerenini, and Grace Betancourt

Ballot 1: no one received the required 46 votes. Diana Robinson was eliminated.

Ballot 2: Grace Betancourt received 48 votes and was elected to the Executive Committee. Dylan Jodah was eliminated.

Ballot 3: neither Jonathan Gilad nor Chikodi Emerenini received the required 46 votes.

8. MOTION: Duly made (Fields), seconded, and failed (41 yes, 8 no, 2 abstentions):

"To refer to the Executive Committee to elect a student member of the Executive Committee."

- 9. Ballot 4: neither candidate received the required 46 votes.
- 10. MOTION: Duly made (Fields), seconded, and failed (41 yes, 8 no, 2 abstentions):

"To refer to the Executive Committee to elect a student member of the Executive Committee."

11. MOTION: Duly made (Frisz), seconded and failed:

"To refer to the Executive Committee to elect the last student member of the Executive Committee."

- 12. Nominations to the Nominating Committee:
  - a. The following faculty were nominated:

Marcia Bayne-Smith – Social Sciences (to 2008) Michael Newman – Arts (to 2008)

The faculty were elected by unanimous consent.

b. The following students were nominated for the Math & Natural Sciences seat:

Saleem Rasul (to 2007)

Saleem Rasul was elected to the Math & Natural Sciences seat by unanimous consent.

c. The following students were nominated for the At Large seat:

Hala Embabi, Shahriar Ashraf, Jessenia Vazcones, Aniga Islam

Jessenia Vazcones withdrew her nomination.

No one received the required 46 votes.

## **ACADEMIC SENATE MINUTES, May 11, 2006**

13. MOTION: Duly made (Fields), seconded and failed:

"To refer both elections to the Executive Committee."

- 14. The Chair asked Dave Fields to be Parliamentarian. Mr. Fields accepted.
- 15. MOTION: Duly made (Fields), seconded, and passed:

"To adjourn."

Meeting adjourned at 5:10 p.m. A reception followed in the Dining Hall Faculty and Staff Dining Room.