# MINUTES OF THE ACADEMIC SENATE OF QUEENS COLLEGE MAY 10, 2007 Kiely Hall Room 170

- 1. The first meeting of the thirty-eight session of the Queens College Academic Senate was convened at 3:57 p.m. by Professor Manuel Sanudo, Holder of the Chair pro tempore.
- 2. MOTION: Duly made:

"To adopt the Elections Committee Report"

The motion failed. (yes 40, no 31)

The Holder of the Chair pro tempore reported the following amendments to the Report:

- 1. **Page 1**, under Art add Sin-Ying Ho as Delegate
- 2. <u>Page 1</u>, under Chemistry and Biochemistry editorial correction Seogjoo Jang
- 3. **Page 1**, under English add Jason Tougaw as Delegate
- 4. <u>Page 1</u>, under European Languages & Literature add Gerasimus Katsan as Delegate and Thomas Bird as Alternate
- 5. <u>Page 2</u>, under Physics cross out Mark Miksic as Delegate and add Igor Kuskovsky as Delegate.
- 6. <u>Page 2</u>, under Political Science add Judith Kimerling as Delegate and Joe Rollins as Alternate
- 7. <u>Page 2</u>, under Sociology add Joanne Miller as Delegate and Andrew Beveridge as Alternate
- 8. Page 2, under Urban Studies editorial correction Christos Ioannides.

### Debate followed

i. MOTION: Duly made, (Lord), and failed.

"To accept Elections Committee Report"

Motion failed to pass (44 yes, 26 no, 1 abstention)

#### Debate followed

- ii. MOTION: Duly made, and passed: (49 yes, 18 no, 0 abstention)
  - "To call the question again"
- iii. MOTION: Duly made, and failed: (35 yes, 29 no, 3 abstention)

"To accept the Elections Committee Report"

## Academic Senate Minutes – May 10, 2007

(Elections report continued)

MOTION: Duly made, (Lord), and failed: (33 yes, 32 no, 1 abstention)
"To adjourn"

Dave Fields as Chair pro tempore accepted nominations for Holder of the Chair.
 Senator Lowe nominated Dean Savage

Dean Savage was elected Holder of the Chair by unanimous consent

2. The Chair accepted nominations for **Deputy Holder of the Chair.** 

The following students were nominated: Grace Betancourt and Jessenia Vazcones

Neither Grace Betancourt nor Jessenia Vazcones received the required 46 votes

3. The Chair accepted nomination for **Secretary.** 

No nominations were made

4. Nominations to fill the remaining *four faculty* seats on the **Executive Committee.** 

Emilio DeTorre, Elizabeth Lowe, Barbara Moore, and Tom Bird

Seeing no further nominations, the Chair asked to "cast one ballot for the nominees."

5. Nominations to fill the remaining *two student* seats on the **Executive Committee.** 

The following students were nominated to the Executive Committee:

Daniel Shulman, Jonathan Gilad, Avi Siegel, Adjani Papillon

Avi Siegel withdrew his nomination

**Ballot 1**: No one received the required 46 votes.

6. Nominations to the Nominating Committee:

The following students were nominated as follows:

Matthew McCann - Social Sciences

# Academic Senate Minutes - May 10, 2007

(Nominating committee report continued)

Anna Malakova - Arts

Gonul Asiker - Education

Joe Manfre - Sciences

MOTION: Duly made, and failed, the Senate no longer had a quorum.

Meeting adjourned at 5:58pm. A reception followed in the *Dining Hall Faculty and Staff Dining Room*.

3