MINUTES OF THE ACADEMIC SENATE OF QUEENS COLLEGE Kiely Hall, room 170

- 1. The Chair of the Elections Committee, Leonard Rodberg was unable to attend; he appointed Manuel Sanudo Chair pro tempore in his place. Chair Sanudo appointed Dave Fields as Parliamentarian pro tempore.
- 2. The first meeting of the thirty-ninth session of the Queens College Academic Senate was convened at 3:51 p.m. by Professor Manuel Sanudo, Holder of the Chair pro tempore.

MOTION: Duly made:

"To adopt the Elections Committee Report."

The Holder of the Chair pro tempore reported the following amendments to the Report.

- 1. Under Classical, Middle Eastern & Asian Languages and Cultures, the Delegate is Yunzhong Shu (2 years), the Alternate is Joel Lidov (2 years).
- 2. Under Earth & Environmental Sciences, the Delegate is Gillian Stewart (1 year).
- 3. Under Education-Secondary, the Delegate is Rosaria Caporrimo (2 years) and the Alternate is Hefer Bembenutty (2 years).
- 4. Under Sociology, the Delegate is Joyce Tang (1 year) and the Alternate is Joanne Miller (1 year).

The Elections Committee Report was adopted as amended.

3. The Chair pro tempore accepted nominations for the Holder of the Chair.

The following faculty member was nominated: Dean Savage

Seeing no further nominations, the Chair pro tempore asked the Secretary to cast one ballot for the nominee.

- 4. The Chair asked Dave Fields to be Parliamentarian, Mr. Fields accepted.
- 5. The Chair accepted nominations for the **Deputy Holder of the Chair**:

The following students were nominated:

Adjani Papillon and Angelica Katz

Ballot #1: Neither of the candidates received the required 31 votes.
Ballot #2: Adjani Papillon receive (31) votes, Angelica Katz received (16 votes) (1 abstention)

Adjani Papillon was elected Deputy Holder of the Chair.

- 6. There were no nominations for the Secretary.
- 7. Senator Frisz nominated the following faculty members to the **Executive Committee**:

Timothy Pugh, Kimberley Alkins, Susan Croll and Elizabeth Lowe

Seeing no further nominations, the Chair asked the Secretary to cast on ballot for the nominees.

8. Nominations to fill the remaining two student seats on the **Executive Committee**.

MOTION: Duly made (Senator Lord) seconded and passed:

"To drop the candidate with the lowest number of votes"

<u>NOTE</u>: Parliamentarian Fields clarified that this procedure **can not** be used to reduce the number of candidates to less than two.

The following students were nominated:

Vimonsiri Aunaetitrakul
Amanda BaronDaniel Muchnick
Angelica Katz

Ballot #1:Vimonsiri Aunaetitrakul (31 votes), Angelica Katz (27 votes)
Amanda Baron (17 votes), and Daniel Muchnick (11 votes).
Daniel Muchnick was eliminated

Vimonsiri Aunaetitrakul was elected to the Executive Committee

- **Ballot #2**: Angelica Katz and Amanda Baron both received 50% of the votes.
- **Ballot #3:** Neither Angelica Katz (26 votes) nor Amanda Baron (24 votes) received the required 31 votes.

MOTION: Duly made and passed:

"To table"

The election now passes to the Executive Committee.

Academic Senate Minutes -May 8, 2008

2e. Nominating Committee (Christopher Vickery):

The following faculty members were nominated to the OPEN seat on the **Nominating** Committee:

Marcia Bayne-Smith	Social Sciences	(to 2010)
Michael Newman	Arts & Humanities	(to 2010)

Seeing no further nominations, the chair asked to cast one vote for the candidates.

The following students were nominated for the **OPEN** (Math & Natural Science) seat on the **Nominating Committee:**

Anita Sanwane, Jennifer Vargas and Merianne Mantaring

<u>Ballot #1</u>: Anita Sanwane (22 votes) Jennifer Vargas (25votes) and Merianne Mantaring (5 votes). Merianne Mantaring was eliminated.
 <u>Ballot #2:</u> Anita Sanwane (22 votes) and Jennifer Vargas (30 votes)
 <u>Ballot #3:</u> Jennifer Vargas received the required 31 votes.

The following students were nominated for the **OPEN** (At-Large) seat on the **Nominating Committee:**

Steven Perkins, Alon Beer and Susan Cardenas

 Ballot #1: Alon Beer (23 votes), Susan Cardenas, (28 votes) and Steven Perkins, (0 votes). Steven Perkins was eliminated.
 Ballot#2: Susan Cardenas received the required 31 votes.

MOTION: Duly made seconded and passed:

"To Adjourn"

Meeting Adjourned at 4:48 p.m.