MINUTES OF THE ACADEMIC SENATE OF QUEENS COLLEGE Kiely Hall, room 170

- 1. The Chair of the Elections Committee, Leonard Rodberg was unable to attend; he appointed Manuel Sanudo, Chair pro tempore in his place. Chair Sanudo appointed Dave Fields as Parliamentarian pro tempore.
- 2. The first meeting of the Fortieth session of the Queens College Academic Senate was convened at 3:51 p.m. by Professor Manuel Sanudo, Holder of the Chair pro tempore.

MOTION: Duly made:

"To adopt the Elections Committee Report."

The Holder of the Chair pro tempore reported the following amendments to the Report.

Department	Delegate	Alternate	<u>Term</u>
Psychology	Carolyn Pytte	Claudia Brumbaugh	(1 yr)
Anthropology	Alexander Bauer	Ekaterina Pechenkina	(1 yr)
Elementary Education	Bobbie Kabuto	Jeffrey Chetirko	(2 yr)
Graduate School of Library	Ping Li	Virgil L.P. Blake	(2 yr)
& Information Studies	_	-	-

Editorial Corrections:

Page 2, Amanda Brown should be Amanda Baron

Page 1, correct spelling should be Manuel Sanudo

Page 4, correct spelling should be Samantha Shlimbaum

Page 4, correct spelling should be **Constantine** Kavadas

Page 4, correct spelling should be Gabriella Berrezueta

Hearing no objections to the motion, the Chair pro tempro adopted the Elections Committee Report as amended.

2a. The Chair pro tempore accepted nominations for the **Holder of the Chair**.

The following faculty member was nominated: Dean Savage:

Seeing no further nominations, the Chair pro tempore asked the Secretary to cast one ballot for the nominee.

Chair Savage asked Dave Fields to be Parliamentarian, Mr. Fields accepted.

Academic Senate Minutes – May 14, 2009

2b. The Chair accepted nominations for the **Deputy Holder of the Chair**:

The following students were nominated: Amanda Baron and Yitzchak Lockerman

Parliamentarian Fields pointed out that Yitzchak Lockerman is not eligible to run for the Deputy Holder of the Chair according to the Charter Section VI:

"The Academic Senate shall elect annually from its elected voting membership its Holder of the Chair, Deputy Holder of the Chair, Secretary, and such other officers as it deems necessary."

i. MOTION: Duly made by Senator Yitzchak Lockerman:

"To appeal uphold 1the ruling of the Chair"

A vote was taken whether to support the ruling of the chair. The vote was yes 35, no 14, abstain 0. The ruling of the Chair was upheld.

ii. MOTION: Duly made by Chair Savage and passed unanimously:

"To elect Amanda Baron as Deputy Holder of the Chair"

2c. The Chair accepted nominations for **Secretary**:

The following faculty member was nominated: Manuel Sanudo

Seeing no further nominations, the Chair asked the Secretary to cast on ballot for the nominee.

2d. The Chair accepted nominations for the **Executive Committee:**

The following faculty members were nominated:

Barbara Moore, Elizabeth Lowe, Izabella Taler

Seeing no further nominations, the Chair asked the Secretary to cast one ballot for the nominees.

The Chair accepted Nominations to fill the remaining two student seats on the **Executive Committee**. The following two students were nominated:

Yitzchak Lockerman and Steven Feldman

Seeing no further nominations, the Chair asked the Secretary to cast on ballot for the nominees

¹ Academic Senate Minutes –September 10, 2009

2e. Nominating Committee

1) The following faculty members were nominated to the OPEN seats on the **Nominating** Committee:

Christopher Vickery (M&NS) (to May 2011) Franklin Turner (Education) (to May 2011)

Hearing no objection to the motion, the Chair moved unanimous consent.

2) The following student was nominated for the OPEN (Education) seat on the **Nominating** Committee:

Firuza Uddin (Education) (to May 2011)

Hearing no objection to the motion, the Chair moved unanimous consent.

3) The following students were nominated for the OPEN (Social Science) seat on the **Nominating Committee:**

Allison Ratner and Samantha Shlimbaum

Ballot #1: Allison Ratner was elected (33 votes)
Samantha Shlimbaum (16 votes)

4) The following students were nominated for the OPEN (Arts & Humanities) seat on the **Nominating Committee**:

Vimonsiri Aunaetitrakul and Maria Vicens-Mossman

<u>Ballot#1</u> Marie Vicens-Mossman 25 votes

Vimonsiri Aunaetitrakul 24 votes

Ballot#2 Marie Vicens-Mossman 26 votes

Vimonsiri Aunaetitrakul 23 votes

Neither of the students received the required 31 votes.

MOTION: Duly made seconded and passed:

"To Adjourn"

Meeting Adjourned at 4:47 p.m.