## MINUTES OF THE ACADEMIC SENATE OF QUEENS COLLEGE Kiely Hall, room 170

- 1. The Chair of the Elections Committee, Leonard Rodberg was unable to attend, he appointed Professor Manuel Sanudo, Holder of the Chair pro tempore. Chair pro tempore appointed Dave Fields as Parliamentarian pro tempore.
- 2. The first meeting of the Forty-second session of the Queens College Academic Senate was convened at 3:47 p.m. by Professor Manuel Sanudo, Holder of the Chair pro tempore.

MOTION: Duly made by Chair Sanudo, pro tempore:

"To adopt the Elections Committee Report"

The Holder of the Chair pro tempore reported the following amendments to the Report.
Page 1- Chemistry and Biochemistry add:
Delegate Uri Samuni (1 yr) Alternate Delegate Glendon McLachlan (1 yr)
Page 1- Hispanic Languages and Literatures add:
Delegate Iliana Alcantar (2 yr) Alternate Delegate Alvaro Fernandez (2 yr)
Page 1a- Sociology add:
Delegate Joyce Tang (2 yr) Alternate Delegate Pyong Gap Min (2 yr)
Page 1a. – Music, Aaron Copeland School of add:
Delegate – David Schober (2 yr) Alternate Delegate Richard Sang (2 yr)
Page 1a. Psychology add:
Delegate Claudia Brumbaugh (1 yr) Alternate Delegate Daniel Fienup (1 yr)
Editorial correction:
Page 1a. Editorial correction- Alexander Reichi to Alexander Reichl

Hearing no objections to the motion, the Chair pro tempore adopted the Elections Committee Report as amended.

3. The Chair pro tempore accepted nominations for the **Holder of the Chair**:

The following faculty member was nominated:

#### Roberta Brody

Seeing no further nominations, the Chair pro tempore Sanudo asked the Secretary to cast one ballot for the nominee.

4. Chair Roberta Brody appointed Dave Fields as Parliamentarian, Mr. Fields accepted.

## Academic Senate Minutes – May 12, 2011

5. The Chair accepted nominations for the **Deputy Holder of the Chair**:

The following student was nominated:

#### Edward Borman

Seeing no further nominations, the Chair asked the Secretary to cast one ballot for the nominee.

6. The Chair accepted nominations for **Secretary:** 

The following faculty member was nominated:

#### Manuel Sanudo

Seeing no further nominations, the Chair asked the Secretary to cast one ballot for the nominee.

7. The Chair accepted nominations for the **Executive Committee:** 

The following faculty members were nominated:

Izabella Taler, Chris Oliva, Elizabeth Lowe, and Steven Solieri

Seeing no further nominations, the Chair asked the Secretary to cast one ballot for the nominees.

8. The Chair accepted nominations to fill the remaining two student seats on the **Executive Committee**.

The follow students were nominated:

Andrew DeMasters(29 votes)Raspreet Bhatia(20 votes)Alejandra Villanueva(34 votes)

The following student was elected by majority of the vote:

Alejandra Villanueva

# Ballot 2

Andrew DeMasters	(27votes)
Raspreet Bhatia	(19 votes)

Failed election

## Academic Senate Minutes –May 12, 2011

- 9. Nominations to the Nominating Committee:
  - a) The following faculty members were nominated:

Mary Q. Foote	At-Large	(May, 2013)
Franklin Turner	Education	(May, 2013)
William Haddican	M&NS	(May, 2013)

Seeing no further nominations, the Chair asked the Secretary to cast one ballot for the nominees.

b) The following student was nominated:

The following students were nominated:

Jacques Etienne	Education	(May, 2013)
Karamvir Singh	A&H	(May, 2013)
Duwain Edwards	Social Science	(May, 2013)
Warleny Colon	At-Large	(May, 2013)

Seeing no further nominations, the Chair asked the Secretary to cast one ballot for the nominee.

The following students were nominated to fill the OPEN seat on the Executive Committee:

Andrew DeMasters	(29 votes)
Raspreet Bhatia	(19 votes)

Failed election

MOTION: Duly made by Parliamentarian Fields, seconded and passed:

"To adjourn"

Meeting adjourned at 4:23pm.