# MINUTES OF THE ACADEMIC SENATE OF QUEENS COLLEGE Kiely Hall, room 170

The first meeting of the Forty-third session of the Queens College Academic Senate was convened at 3:45 p.m. by Professor Manuel Sanudo, Holder of the Chair pro tempore. Chair pro tempore appointed Dave Fields as Parliamentarian pro tempore.

#### 1. Elections Committee- Report of Elections

The Holder of the Chair pro tempore reported the following amendments to the Elections Committee Report.

2 yr.	Alternate Delegate:	Uri Samuni	2 yr.
ograms	3		
2 yr.	Alternate Delegate:	Sara Woolf	2 yr.
2 yr.	Alternate Delegate:	Katherine Profeta	a 2 yr.
1 yr.	Alternate Delegate:	OPEN	1 yr.
Page 1a. Music, Aaron Copland School of			
1 yr	. Alternate Delegate	: Richard Sang	1 yr.
1 yr.	Alternate Delegate:	OPEN	1 yr.
•	2 yr. 2 yr. 1 yr. 1 yr. 1 yr. 1 yr.	ograms 2 yr. Alternate Delegate: 2 yr. Alternate Delegate: 1 yr. Alternate Delegate: ol of 1 yr. Alternate Delegate:	<ul><li>2 yr. Alternate Delegate: Sara Woolf</li><li>2 yr. Alternate Delegate: Katherine Profeta</li><li>1 yr. Alternate Delegate: OPEN</li></ul>

MOTION: Duly made by Chair Sanudo, pro tempore:

"To adopt the Elections Committee Report as amended"

Hearing no objections to the motion, the Chair pro tempore adopted the Elections Committee Report as amended.

#### 2. Nominations and elections as follows:

2a. The Chair pro tempore accepted nominations for the **Holder of the Chair**:

The following faculty member was nominated:

## Roberta Brody

Seeing no further nominations, the Chair pro tempore Sanudo asked the Secretary to cast one ballot for the nominee.

Chair Roberta Brody appointed Dave Fields as Parliamentarian, Mr. Fields accepted.

## Academic Senate Minutes –May 10, 2012

## 2b. The Chair accepted nominations for the **Deputy Holder of the Chair**:

The following students were nominated:

\*Michael Bento (not eligible) Alejandra Villanueva Alysson Azra

\*Parliamentarian Dave Fields explained that only voting members are eligible to run for Deputy Holder of the Chair.

#### Ballot #1

Alejandra Villanueva 23 votes Alysson Azra 20 votes

Failed election.

#### Ballot #2

Alejandra Villanueva 23 votes Alysson Azra 20 votes

Failed election.

## 2c. The Chair accepted nominations for **Secretary:**

The following faculty member was nominated:

Manuel Sanudo

Seeing no further nominations, the Chair asked the Secretary to cast one ballot for the nominee.

## 2d. The Chair accepted nominations for the **Executive Committee:**

1) The following faculty members were nominated:

Izabella Taler, Christopher Oliva, Elizabeth Lowe, and Steven Solieri

Seeing no further nominations, the Chair asked the Secretary to cast one ballot for the nominees.

## Academic Senate Minutes – May 10, 2012

2) The Chair accepted nominations to fill the remaining two student seats on the **Executive Committee**.

The following student was nominated from the floor:

Malinie Cyril- declined the nomination.

The following students were nominated from the floor:

## Ballot 1

James Robinson16 votesErnst Pierre25 votesBrian Edelman31 votes

The following student was elected by majority of the vote:

Brian Edelman

## Ballot 2

Ernst Pierre 24 votes James Robinson 16 votes

Failed election.

- **2e.** Nominations to the Nominating Committee:
  - 1) Faculty members- there were no nominees.
  - 2) The following students were nominated from the floor to fill the OPEN M&NS seat:

Michael Aghelian 20 votes Jaiwante Manni 23 votes

Failed election.

3) The following students were nominated from the floor to fill the OPEN At-Large seat:

David Arastehmanesh 20 votes Sandra Babic 21 votes

Failed election.

MOTION: Duly made by Parliamentarian Fields, seconded and passed:

"To adjourn"

Meeting adjourned at 4:31pm.