# MINUTES OF THE ACADEMIC SENATE OF QUEENS COLLEGE Kiely Hall, room 170

The first meeting of the Forty-fifth session of the Queens College Academic Senate was convened at 3:44 p.m. by Professor Simone Yearwood, Holder of the Chair pro tempore.

## 1. Elections Committee- Report of Elections

The Holder of the Chair pro tempore reported the following amendments to the Elections Committee Report.

Page 1. Secondary Education and Youth Services

add: Delegate: Leslee Grey 2 yr. Alternate: Theresa Gurl 2 yr.

Page 1 Comparative Literature

add: Delegate: Christopher Winks 1 yr Alternate: Andrea Khalil 1 yr.

MOTION: Duly made by the Chair pro tempore:

"To adopt the Elections Committee Report as amended"

Hearing no objections to the motion, the Chair pro tempore adopted the Elections Committee Report as amended.

#### 2. Nominations and elections as follows:

2a. The Chair pro tempore accepted nominations for the **Holder of the Chair**:

The following faculty member was nominated:

Manuel Sanudo

Seeing no further nominations, Chair Yearwood, pro tempore asked the Secretary to cast all votes for the nominee.

Chair Manuel Sanudo appointed Dave Fields as Parliamentarian.

2b. The Chair accepted nominations for the **Deputy Holder of the Chair**:

The following student was nominated from the floor:

Jennifer Fernandez

Seeing no further nominations, Chair Sanudo asked the Secretary to cast all votes for the nominee.

## Academic Senate Minutes – May 15, 2014

(2b. continued)

2c. The Chair accepted nominations for **Secretary:** 

The following Senators were nominated from the floor:

## **Ballot 1**

Roberta Brody, faculty (29 votes) Erica Davis, student (14 votes)

Failed election.

#### Ballot 2

Roberta Brody Erica Davis

Dr. Roberta Brody withdrew her name from the election.

The follow student was nominated for Secretary:

Erica Davis

Seeing no further nominations, the Chair asked the Secretary to cast all votes for the nominee.

- 2d. The Chair accepted nominations for the **Executive Committee:** 
  - 1) The following faculty members were nominated from the floor:

Meghan Healey, Steven Solieri, Roberta Brody, and Terrance Quinn

Seeing no further nominations, the Chair asked the Secretary to cast all votes for the nominees.

2) The Chair accepted nominations to fill the remaining student seat on the **Executive Committee**.

\*Note Chair Sanudo announced if no one is elected the lowest vote will be dropped.

The following students were nominated from the floor:

## Ballot 1

Victoria Brown	(30 votes)
Xenia Kokkinos	(13 votes)
Muhammad Khan	(2 votes)
Aadil Ilyas	(3 votes)

Failed election.

# Academic Senate Minutes -May 15, 2014

(2d. continued)

# Ballot 2

Victoria Brown	(37 votes)
Xenia Kokkinos	(12 votes)
Aadil Ilyas	(1 vote)

Victoria Brown was elected by majority vote.

## **2e.** Nominations to the Nominating Committee:

1) The following faculty member was nominated from the floor to fill the OPEN **Social Science** seat:

Roberta Brody Social Science May, 2016

Seeing no further nominations, the Chair asked the Secretary to cast all votes for the nominee.

2) Arts and Humanities – May, 2016

No nominees

3) The following student was nominated from the floor to fill the OPEN Education seat:

Christopher Labial

May, 2015

Seeing no further nominations, the Chair asked the Secretary to cast all votes for the nominee.

4) The following students were nominated to fill the OPEN **Social Science** seat:

## Ballot 1

Alexis Suarez	(24 votes)
Murtaza Khan	(9 votes)
Mohammed Samra	(16 votes)

<sup>\*</sup>Note Chair Sanudo announced if no one is elected the lowest vote will be dropped.

Failed election.

## Ballot 2

Alexis Suarez (32 votes) Mohammed Samra (17 votes)

Alexis Suarez was elected by majority vote.

## Academic Senate Minutes -May 15, 2014

(2e. continued)

5) The following students were nominated from the floor to fill the OPEN **Math and** Natural Science seat:

Natasha Chait (25 votes) Aadil Ilyas (14 votes)

Failed election.

6) The following students were nominated from the floor to fill the OPEN At-Large Seat:

Cindy Gabbay (14 votes) Xenia Kokkinos (26 votes)

Muhammed Khan withdrew his name before the election.

Failed Election

MOTION: Duly made seconded and passed:

"To adjourn"

Meeting adjourned at 4:59pm.