MINUTES OF THE ACADEMIC SENATE OF QUEENS COLLEGE May 9, 2019 Kiely Hall, room 170

The first meeting session Fifty of the Queens College Academic Senate was convened at 4:49 p.m. by Manuel Sanudo, Holder of the Chair, Pro Tempore.

1. Elections Committee- Report of Elections

The Holder of the Chair, pro tempore reported the following amendments to the Elections Committee Report:

Page 1.

English

Delegate	Miles Grier	(2 yr)	Alt. Delegate	Sue Goldhaber	(2 yr)
<u>Library</u> Delegate	Simone L. Yearwood	d (2 yr)	Alt. Delegate	Annie Tummino	(2 yr)
School of E	arth and Environmer	ntal Sciences	Alt. Delegate	George Hendrey	(2 yr)
Page 1a.					
Mathmatic Delegate	<u>s</u> Joe Pastore	(2 yr)	Alt. Delegate	OPEN	(2 yr)
Philosophy Delegate	Stephen Grover	(2 yr)	Alt. Delegate	OPEN	(2 yr)
Sociology Delegate	Nicholas Alexiou	(2 yr)	Alt. Delegate	Steven Leventhal	(2 yr)

i. MOTION: Duly made by Manuel Sanudo, Chair Pro Tempore:

"To adopt the Elections Committee Report of 2019 as amended"

Hearing no objections to the motion, the Chair Pro Tempore adopted the Elections Committee Report as amended.

2. Nominations and elections as follows:

2a. The Chair pro tempore accepted nominations for the **Holder of the Chair**:

Academic Senate Minutes – May 9, 2019

The following faculty member was nominated from the floor:

Simone L. Yearwood

Seeing no further nominations, Chair Sanudo Pro Tempore asked the Secretary to cast one vote for the nominee.

Chair Yearwood asked Ken Lord, UCC Chair and Senator to serve as the Parliamentarian for the meeting. Senator Lord accepted.

Chair Yearwood gave thanks to former Chair, Roberta Brody for her service.

Chair Yearwood congratulated Manny Sanudo and thanked him for his 34 years of service to Queens College.

2b. The Chair accepted nominations for the **Deputy Holder of the Chair**:

There were no nominees.

2c. The Chair accepted nominations for **Secretary**:

The following student senator was nominated from the floor:

Zaire Couloute

Seeing no further nominations, the Chair asked the Secretary to cast all ballots for the nominee.

- 2d. The Chair accepted nominations for the **Executive Committee:**
 - 1) The following faculty members were nominated from the floor:

Stephen Grover, Christopher Wagner, Ann Azzollini, Theresa Gurl and Roberta Brody

Seeing no further nominations, the Chair asked the Secretary to cast all ballots for the nominees.

2) The Chair accepted nominations to fill the OPEN Student seats on the Executive Committee.

The following students were nominated from the floor:

Alihaider Hassan, Zaire Couloute and Yana Zheng

Seeing no further nominations, the Chair asked the Secretary to cast all ballots for the nominees.

2e. Nominations to the Nominating Committee:

Faculty

1) The following faculty was nominated from the floor to fill the OPEN Education seat:

Peishi Wang

Education

2021

Seeing no further nominees the chair asked the secretary to cast all ballots for the nominees.

2) The following faculty was nominated from the floor to fill the OPEN At-Large seat:

Karla Manning

At-Large

2021

Seeing no further nominees the chair asked the secretary to cast all ballots for the nominees.

3) The following faculty was nominated from the floor to fill the OPEN math and Natural Science seat:

Joseph Pastore

Math and Natural Science 2021

Seeing no further nominees the chair asked the secretary to cast all ballots for the nominees.

4) Social Sciences - May (2020)

No faculty nominee.

5) The following faculty was nominated from the floor to fill the OPEN Arts and Humanities seat:

Karen Sullivan

Arts and Humanities

2020

Seeing no further nominees, the chair asked the secretary to cast all ballots for the nominees.

Students

1) The following student was nominated from the floor to fill the OPEN Education Seat:

Hafsah Massoud

Education

2021

Seeing no further nominations, the Chair asked the Secretary to cast all ballots for the nominee.

2) The following student was nominated from the floor to fill the OPEN At-Large seat:

Academic Senate Minutes -May 9, 2019

Tyler Grant

At-Large

2021

Seeing no further nominations, the Chair asked the Secretary to cast all ballots for the nominee.

3) The following Student was nominated from the floor to fill the OPEN Math and Natural Sciences seat:

Daniel Yakobov

Math and Natural Sciences 2021

MOTION: Duly made seconded and passed:

"To Adjourn"

Meeting adjourned at 5:10 pm.