MINUTES OF THE ACADEMIC SENATE OF QUEENS COLLEGE Way 14, 2020 Virtual Zoom meeting

The first meeting session Fifty-one of the Queens College Academic Senate was convened at 4:06 p.m. by Jeremy Czerw, Holder of the Chair, Pro Tempore.

1. Elections Committee- Report of Elections

The Holder of the Chair, pro tempore reported the following amendments to the Elections Committee Report:

Page 1.

Graduate School of Library and Information Studies

Delegate Shuheng Wu (1 yr) Alt. Delegate James Lowry (1 yr)

Page 2.

Media Studies

Delegate Shin Joung Yeo (2 yr) Alt. Delegate Richard Maxwell (2 yr)

i. MOTION: Duly made by Jeremy Czerw, Chair Pro Tempore:

"To adopt the Elections Committee Report of 2020 as amended"

Hearing no objections to the motion, the Chair Pro Tempore adopted the Elections Committee Report as amended.

2. Nominations and elections as follows:

2a. The Chair pro tempore accepted nominations for the **Holder of the Chair**:

The following faculty member and student were nominated from the floor:

Faculty: Simone L. Yearwood 31 votes **Student:** Siddharth Malviya 20 votes

Simone L. Yearwood was elected by majority vote.

2b. The Chair accepted nominations for the **Deputy Holder of the Chair**:

The following senator was nominated from the floor:

Siddharth Malviya

Seeing no further nominations, the Chair asked the Secretary to cast a ballot for the nominee.

Academic Senate Minutes – May 14, 2020

2c. The Chair accepted nominations for **Secretary**:

The following Senator was nominated from the floor:

Rida Zaidi

Seeing no further nominations, the Chair asked the Secretary to cast a ballot for the nominee.

- 2d. The Chair accepted nominations for the **Executive Committee:**
 - 1) The following faculty members were nominated from the floor:

Ann Azzollini, Theresa Gurl, Barbara Moore, Stephen Grover, and James Vacca Seeing no further nominations, the Chair asked the Secretary to cast all ballots for the nominees.

2) The Chair accepted nominations to fill the remaining student seat on the **Executive Committee**.

*Note Chair Yearwood announced if no one is elected the lowest vote will be dropped.

The following students were nominated from the floor:

Ballot #1

Alihaider Hassan 23 votes Michael Yuaeov 2 votes Gloria Stoyanova 28 votes

Failed election.

Ballot #2

Ali Hassan 25 votes Gloria Stoyanova 32 votes Abstain 3 votes

Gloria Stoyanova was elected by majority vote.

2e. Nominations to the Nominating Committee:

Faculty

1) Social Sciences May 2022

No faculty nominee.

Academic Senate Minutes – May 14, 2020

2) Arts and Humanities May 2022

No faculty nominee.

Students

Education May 2021

No student nominee.

The following student was nominated from the floor to fill the OPEN Arts and **Humanities Seat:**

Gloria Stoyanova

Arts and Humanities

2022

Seeing no further nominations, the Chair asked the Secretary to cast a ballot for the nominee.

The following student was nominated from the floor to fill the OPEN Social Sciences seat:

Kimberly Wyllie

Social Sciences

2022

Seeing no further nominations, the Chair asked the Secretary to cast a ballot for the nominee.

*Note Chair Yearwood appointed Dave Fields as Parliamentarian.

MOTION: Duly made seconded and passed:

"To Adjourn"

Meeting adjourned at 4:35 pm.