MINUTES OF THE ACADEMIC SENATE OF QUEENS COLLEGE Kiely Hall - room 170

- 1. The first meeting of the twenty-eighth session of the Queens College Academic Senate was convened at 3:50 p.m. by the Chairman of the Elections Committee, Professor Manuel Sanudo, Holder of the Chair, protempore.
- 2. MOTION: Duly made (Pecoraro):

"To adopt the Elections Committee Report."

The Holder of the Chair, pro tempore, reported the following additions/corrections to the Report:

Department	Delegates		Alternates		
Art	Brian Percival	2 yr.	,	2 yr.	2
Communication Arts & Sciences	Joel Stark	2 yr.	John Haney Susan Einhorn	1	2 yr.
Drama, Theatre & Dance Family, Nutrition & Exercise Sciences	Harry Feiner	1 yr. 2 yr.	Michael Toner	1 yr. 2 yr.	
Library	Evelyn Silverman	-	Nancy Macomber		
Music, Aaron Copland School of	Richard Sang	2 yr.	Hubert Howe	2 yr.	
Physics	Mark Miksic	2 yr.	* Jacob Neuberger	2 yr.	
Political Science	Yan Sun	2 yr.	Michael Krasner	2 yr.	

^{*} Reported erroneously. Prof. Neuberger has retired and has not been elected to the Senate.

The Chair, pro tempore, appointed Dave Fields as Parliamentarian, pro tempore.

The Elections Committee Report was adopted, as amended.

3. The Chair, pro tempore, accepted nominations for Holder of the Chair.

The following faculty members were nominated: Joel Mandelbaum

Seeing no further nominations, the Chair, pro tempore, asked the Secretary "to cast one ballot for the nominee."

- 4. The Chair reappointed Dave Fields as Parliamentarian.
- 5. The Chair accepted nominations for Deputy Holder of the Chair.

The following students were nominated:

Michael Lieber, David Pecoraro

The following was elected Deputy Holder of the Chair: Michael Lieber

MORE

6. The Chair accepted nominations for Secretary.

The following faculty were nominated: Izabella Taler

Seeing no further nominations, the Chair asked the Secretary "to cast one ballot for the nominee."

7. Nominations to fill the remaining four faculty seats on the Executive Committee.

The following faculty were nominated to the Executive Committee:

Mark Miksic, Helen Cairns, Thomas Bird, Nancy Hemmes

Seeing no further nominations, the Chair asked the Secretary "to cast one ballot for the nominees."

8. Nominations to fill the remaining two student seats on the Executive Committee.

The following students were nominated to the Executive Committee:

Donald Passantino, Cliff Olsen

Seeing no further nominations, the Chair asked the Secretary "to cast one ballot for the nominees."

- 9. Nominations to the Nominating Committee: 2 faculty seats and 2 student seats:
 - a. The following faculty were nominated for the Science seat:

David Speidel (to 1999)

Seeing no further nominations, the Chair asked the Secretary "to cast one ballot for the nominee."

b. The following faculty were nominated for the At Large seat:

Anna Brady (to 1999)

Seeing no further nominations, the Chair asked the Secretary "to cast one ballot for the nominee."

c. The following students were nominated for the Day student seat:

Kai-Lin Chuang (to 1999)

Seeing no further nominations, the Chair asked the Secretary "to cast one ballot for the nominee."

- d. There is an open seat for an Evening student.
- 10. MOTION: Duly made, seconded, and passed:

"To adjourn."

Meeting adjourned at 4:25 p.m. Reception followed in the Atrium of the New Music Building.