MINUTES OF THE ACADEMIC SENATE OF QUEENS COLLEGE Kiely Hall - room 170

- 1. The first meeting of the twenty-ninth session of the Queens College Academic Senate was convened at 5:32 p.m. by the Chairman of the Elections Committee, Professor Manuel Sanudo, Holder of the Chair, pro tempore.
- 2. MOTION: Duly made (Pecoraro):

"To approve the report of the Elections Committee."

The Holder of the Chair, pro tempore, reported the following additions/corrections to the Report:

a. Department Delegates Alternates

Drama, Theatre & Dance Jo Tanner 2 yr. Susan Einhorn 2 yr.

- b. On page 3, under Freshman Lower Sophomore, Alternates: add Scott Kramer 166 votes.
- c. On page 4, under **Evening Academic Senate:** Donald Passantino has resigned this seat and is keeping his position as an ACE Senator.
- d. Editorial change (Alsop): On page 1, should read Comparative Literature.

The Elections Committee Report was adopted unanimously, as amended.

- 3. Senator Pecoraro asked if Alternates are allowed to sit when there is no principal. The Chair, pro tempore, ruled that according to the Bylaws these seats exist and Alternates are allowed to sit. Senator Pecoraro appealed the ruling of the Chair. The body voted in support of the Chair.
- 4. The Chair, pro tempore, accepted nominations for Holder of the Chair.

The following faculty members were nominated: Nancy Hemmes

Seeing no further nominations, the Chair, pro tempore, asked the Secretary "to cast one ballot for the nominee."

- 5. The Chair appointed Dave Fields as Parliamentarian. Mr. Fields accepted.
- 6. The Chair accepted nominations for Deputy Holder of the Chair.

The following students were nominated:

Alyce Dagorn, Meredith Farrell

The following was elected Deputy Holder of the Chair: Alyce Dagorn

ACADEMIC SENATE MINUTES - May 14, 1998

7. The Chair accepted nominations for Secretary.

The following faculty were nominated: Izabella Taler

Seeing no further nominations, the Chair asked the Secretary "to cast one ballot for the nominee."

8. Nominations to fill the remaining two student seats on the Executive Committee.

The following students were nominated to the Executive Committee:

Thomas Traegler, Donald Passantino, Meredith Farrell

The following students were elected:

Thomas Traegler, Donald Passantino

9. Nominations to fill the remaining four faculty seats on the Executive Committee.

The following faculty were nominated to the Executive Committee:

Roberta Brody, Thomas Bird, Mark Miksic, Ronald Lawson

Seeing no further nominations, the Chair asked the Secretary "to cast one ballot for the nominees."

- 10. Nominations to the Nominating Committee:
 - a. The following faculty were nominated:

```
Marcia Bayne-Smith - Social Sciences (to 2000)
Richard Sang - Arts (to 2000)
```

Seeing no further nominations, the Chair asked the Secretary "to cast one ballot for the nominees."

There were no nominations for the Science seat.

b. The following students were nominated:

```
Andrew Sicari - Day (to 1999)
Lee Fernandez - Evening (to 1999)
Mary Ellen Passantino - Graduate (to 2000)
Colette Fanord - SEEK (to 2000)
```

Seeing no further nominations, the Chair asked the Secretary "to cast one ballot for the nominees."

11. MOTION: Duly made (Pecoraro), seconded, and passed:

"To adjourn."

Meeting adjourned at 6:07 p.m. Reception followed in the Atrium of the Music Building.