SPECIAL LIMITED AGENDA MEETING OF QUEENS COLLEGE ACADEMIC SENATE

DECEMBER 5, 2013

The meeting will come to order:

Chair Roberta Brody called the meeting to order at 3:38 p.m.

1. Election of faculty representation on the Search Committee for President.

Chair Brody explained the difference between a "Special Meeting" and a "Special Limited Meeting."

Chair Brody read the following:

<u>Special Rules of Order for Election of Faculty Members to the Search Committee</u> for President of Queens College

- 1. All candidates (or their designees) shall have the right to address the body from the floor for up to 3 three minutes.
- 2. The faculty members of the Academic Senate shall vote to elect three faculty members to the presidential search committee as follows:
 - A. All candidates (from P & B and by petition) shall be listed and faculty members of the Senate shall vote for up to three choices.
 - B. A candidate must secure at least 21 votes to be elected to the Presidential Search Committee.
- C. If no candidate is elected on the first ballot, the two candidates with the fewest number of votes shall be dropped from the ballot and the Senate faculty shall vote again from the pool of remaining candidates. If a candidate is elected on any given ballot, no one shall be dropped from the following ballot. If no candidate is selected in any subsequent ballots, the candidate with the fewest number of votes shall be dropped from the ballot and the Senate Faculty shall vote again from the remaining pool of candidates. This process shall be followed until three candidates are selected or the Senate Faculty votes to adjourn.
 - 2. In no circumstance shall the number of candidates be less than at least one more than the number of open seats.

Chair Brody announced that Dr. Michael Newman has withdrawn his name from the election.

Ballot #1 (white)

Joshua Freeman	13 votes
Jeffrey Halperin	20 votes
Lynn Howell	8 votes
Irving (Lenny) Markovitz	16 votes
Richard Maxwell	26 votes
Cecilia McHugh	13 votes

Richard Maxwell was elected by majority vote.

Ballot #2 (green)

Joshua Freeman	13 votes
Jeffrey Halperin	20 votes
Lynn Howell	8 votes
Irving (Lenny) Markovitz	16 votes
Cecilia McHugh	10 votes

Lynn Howell was dropped.

Ballot #3 (pink)

Joshua Freeman	12 votes
Jeffrey Halperin	24 votes
Irving (Lenny) Markovitz	21 votes
Cecilia McHugh	10 votes

Jeffrey Halperin and Irving (Lenny) Markovitz were elected by majority vote.

The meeting adjourned at 4:30 pm.