The first meeting of the Forty-forth session of the Queens College Academic Senate was convened at 3:46 p.m. by Professor Simone Yearwood, Holder of the Chair pro tempore. Chair pro tempore appointed Dave Fields as Parliamentarian pro tempore.

1. Elections Committee- Report of Elections

The Holder of the Chair pro tempore reported the following amendments to the Elections Committee Report.

Page 1. Hispanic Languages and Literatures

add: Delegate: Beatrice Pena 2 yr. Alternate Delegate: Jose Miguel Martinez-Torrejon 2 yr.

Page 1 Earth and Environmental Sciences, School of

add: Delegate: Jeffrey Bird 2 yr Alternate Delegate: Timothy Eaton 2 yr.

MOTION: Duly made by Chair Yearwood, pro tempore:

"To adopt the Elections Committee Report as amended"

Hearing no objections to the motion, the Chair pro tempore adopted the Elections Committee Report as amended.

2. Nominations and elections as follows:

2a. The Chair pro tempore accepted nominations for the **Holder of the Chair**:

The following faculty member was nominated:

Roberta Brody

Seeing no further nominations, the Chair Yearwood, pro tempore asked the Secretary to cast all votes for the nominee.

Chair Roberta Brody appointed Dave Fields as Parliamentarian, Mr. Fields accepted.

2b. The Chair accepted nominations for the **Deputy Holder of the Chair**:

The following students were nominated from the floor:

Ballot #1

Sediq Kholdi 14 votes Byron Andriano Pullutasig 13 votes Jennifer Fernandez 15 votes

^{*}Note Chair Brody announced if no one is elected the lowest vote will be dropped. Failed election.

Academic Senate Minutes – May 16, 2013

(2b. continued)

Ballot #2

Sediq Kholdi 23 votes Jennifer Fernandez 19 votes

Failed election.

Ballot #3

Sediq Kholdi 21 votes Jennifer Fernandez 14 votes Abstention (7)

Failed election

2c. The Chair accepted nominations for **Secretary:**

The following faculty member was nominated:

Manuel Sanudo

Seeing no further nominations, the Chair asked the Secretary to cast all votes for the nominee.

- 2d. The Chair accepted nominations for the **Executive Committee:**
 - 1) The following faculty members were nominated from the floor:

Izabella Taler, Meghan Healey, Jennifer Kyle and Steven Solieri

Seeing no further nominations, the Chair asked the Secretary to cast all votes for the nominees.

2) The Chair accepted nominations to fill the remaining two student seats on the **Executive Committee**.

The following students were nominated from the floor:

Ballot 1

Victoria Brown	(14 votes)	Kimberly Sy	(17 votes)
Xania Kokkinos	(10 votes)	Sandra Babic	(21 votes)
Michael Bento	(9 votes)	Raj Maheshwari	(11 votes)

Failed election

Academic Senate Minutes – May 16, 2013

(2d. continued)

Ballot 2

Victoria Brown (19 votes) Sandra Babic (22 votes) Kimberly Sy (20 votes) Raj Maheshwari (17 votes)

Failed election.

2e. Nominations to the Nominating Committee:

1) The following faculty member was nominated from the floor to fill the OPEN **At-Large** seat:

Mary Foote At-Large May, 2015

The Chair asked the Secretary to cast all votes for the nominee.

2) The following faculty member was nominated from the floor to fill the OPEN **Education** seat:

Patricia Velasco Education May, 2015

The Chair asked the Secretary to cast all votes for the nominee.

3) The following students were nominated from the floor to fill the OPEN **Social Science** seat:

Brian Tierney 15 votes Mursal Jaffrey 23 votes

Failed election.

4) The following students were nominated from the floor to fill the OPEN **A&H** seat:

Steven Rengifo 17 votes Benjamin Goldsmith 19 votes

Failed election.

5) The following student was nominated from the floor to fill the OPEN **Education** seat:

Kathleen Vancort Education May, 2015

Hearing no other nominations, the Chair asked the Secretary to cast all votes for the nominee.

MOTION: Duly made by Parliamentarian Fields, seconded and passed:

"To adjourn"

Meeting adjourned at 4:48pm.