## MINUTES OF THE ACADEMIC SENATE OF QUEENS COLLEGE Kiely Hall room 170

1. The first meeting of the thirty-fourth session of the Queens College Academic Senate was convened at 3:45 p.m. by the Chairman of the Elections Committee, Professor Manuel Sanudo, Holder of the Chair protempore.

The Chair pro tempore appointed Ken Lord as Parliamentarian pro tempore.

2. MOTION: Duly made:

"To adopt the Elections Committee Report."

The Holder of the Chair pro tempore reported the following amendments to the Report:

a.	Department	Delegate Alternate			!	
2 v	Art Political Science	Debra Priestly	2 yr. Alyson Co			2 yr. Yan Sun

b. Correction (Kong): on page 3, her name should be Shih Wan Kong.

The Elections Committee Report was adopted, as amended.

3. The Chair pro tempore accepted nominations for Holder of the Chair.

The following faculty members were nominated: Elizabeth Lowe

Seeing no further nominations, the Chair pro tempore asked the Secretary to cast one ballot for the nominee.

4. The Chair accepted nominations for Deputy Holder of the Chair.

The following students were nominated: Shih Wan Kong

Seeing no further nominations, the Chair asked the Secretary to cast one ballot for the nominee.

5. The Chair accepted nominations for Secretary.

The following faculty were nominated: Thomas Bird

Seeing no further nominations, the Chair asked the Secretary to cast one ballot for the nominee.

6. Nominations to fill the remaining four faculty seats on the Executive Committee.

The following faculty were nominated to the Executive Committee:

Mark Miksic, Izabella Taler, Nancy Hemmes, Roberta Brody

Seeing no further nominations, the Chair asked the Secretary to cast one ballot for the nominees.

7. Nominations to fill the remaining two student seats on the Executive Committee.

The following students were nominated to the Executive Committee:

Sara Werner, Donald Passantino

Seeing no further nominations, the Chair asked the Secretary to cast one ballot for the nominees.

- 8. Nominations to the Nominating Committee:
  - a. The following faculty were nominated:

Mary Bushnell – Education (to 2005) Christopher Vickery – Math & Natural Sciences (to 2005)

Shoshana Kaufmann - At Large (to 2005)

Seeing no further nominations, the Chair asked the Secretary to cast one ballot for the nominees.

b. The following students were nominated for the Education seat:

Pelagia Papoutsis (to 2005)

Seeing no further nominations, the Chair asked the Secretary to cast one ballot for the nominee.

c. The following students were nominated for the Arts & Humanities seat:

Mitchell Wyllins, Alyssa Clarke

The following student was elected:

Mitchell Wyllins (to 2005)

d. The following students were nominated for the Social Sciences seat:

Azmina Jasani (to 2005)

Seeing no further nominations, the Chair asked the Secretary to cast one ballot for the nominee.

e. The following students were nominated for the At Large seat:

Carmelo Susino, Alyssa Clarke

The following student was elected:

Carmelo Susino (to 2004)

9. MOTION: Duly made (Frisz), seconded, and passed:

"To adjourn."

Meeting adjourned at 4:12 p.m. A reception followed in the Student Union, room 310.