Sign In

[X] Login to ...

Home > Academics > Divisions > Arts and Humanities > English > Faculty and Staff
Faculty and Staff

 

 Chair

 

 
Glenn Burger
Professor
Klapper Hall, Room 602
Phone: 718-997-4672
Fax: 718-997-4693
Glenn.Burger@qc.cuny.edu


Medieval English and Scottish literature (especially Chaucer and the Chaucerians), medieval cultural studies (especially gender and sexuality), medieval East/West relations, medieval women's writing, queer theory, postcolonial theory
 

 Full-Time Faculty

 

 
Jeffery Allen
Professor
Klapper Hall, Room 534
Phone: 718-997-4707
Fax: 718-997-4693
jeffallen1826@aol.com


Contemporary American literature, African-American literature, fiction and prose

 
Ryan Black
Lecturer and Director of Undergraduate Creative Writing
Klapper Hall, Room 331
Phone: 718-997-4623
Fax: 718-997-4693
rblack25@msn.com


Poetry, creative writing

 
June Bobb
Associate Professor
Kiely Hall, Room 1105
Phone: 718-997-5780
Fax: 718-997-4693
june.bobb@qc.cuny.edu


Caribbean literature, women writers of the African Diaspora

 
Barbara Bowen
Professor
Klapper Hall, Room 355
Phone: 718-997-4643
Fax: 718-997-4693
bbowen@pscmail.org


As of 2002, Professor Bowen is the elected President of the Professional Staff Congress, the faculty union of the City University.

 
Alan Brandman
Lecturer
Kiely Hall, Room 127
Phone: 718-997-5747
Fax: 718-997-4693
alan.brandman@qc.cuny.edu


College English as a second language

 
Fred Buell
Professor
Klapper Hall, Room 631
Phone: 718-997-4666
Fax: 718-997-4693
frederick.buell@qc.cuny.edu

Research/Teaching Interests

Eco-criticism, the environment and literature, immigrant literature, Globalization and literature, technology and literature, creative writing (poetry and non-fiction)

 
Jeffrey Cassvan
Lecturer and Assistant Director of Undergraduate Studies
Klapper Hall, Room 706
Phone: 718-997-4710
Fax: 718-997-4693
chassvan@earthlink.net


Theory, Irish literature

 
Seo-Young Chu
Assistant Professor
Klapper Hall, Room 642
Phone: 718-997-4685
Fax: 718-997-4693
seoyoung.chu1@qc.cuny.edu


The 20th century, aesthetics, Asian American studies, cultural theory, gender, globalization, Korea, lyric poetry, modernism, multi-ethnic literatures of the United States, rhetoric, science fiction, transnational studies.

 
Nicole Cooley
Professor
Klapper Hall, Room 702
Phone: 718-997-4671
Fax: 718-997-4693
nicole.cooley@qc.cuny.edu


Poetry Writing, Fiction Writing, modern and contemporary American poetry and poetics, women’s poetry

 
Joseph Cuomo
Lecturer
Klapper Hall, Room 617
Phone: 718-997-4646
Fax: 718-997-4693
mailatqc@gmail.com


Queens College Evening Readings

 
Ann Davison
Visiting Professor, Associate Director of the Freshman Year Initiative (FYI)
Honors Hall, Room 5
Phone: 718-997-5567
Fax: 718-997-5674
Ann.Davison@qc.cuny.edu


Victorian Literature, Composition and Rhetoric, World Studies

 
Annmarie Drury
Assistant Professor
Klapper Hall, Room 605
Phone: 718-997-4699
Fax: 718-997-4693
annmarie.drury@gmail.com


Victorian literature and culture; poetry and poetics; literatures of Africa (especially Anglophone Africa); practice, theory, and history of translation.

 
Hugh English
Assistant Professor
Klapper Hall, Room 320
Phone: 718-997-4697
Fax: 718-997-4693
hugh.english@qc.cuny.edu


Gender Studies, Women’s Studies, Queer Studies, 20th- and 21st-Century US American Literatures and Cultures, Modernism(s), Poetry, Narrative

 
Duncan Faherty
Associate Professor
Klapper Hall, Room 615
Phone: 718-997-4668
Fax: 718-997-4693
duncan.faherty@qc.cuny.edu


Late eighteenth and early nineteenth century U.S. literature and culture, the history of U.S. architecture and visual arts, eco-criticism, the history of American Studies, composition/rhetoric theory

 
Kevin Ferguson
Lecturer, Associate Director of First Year Writing
Klapper Hall, Room 711
Phone: 718-997-4707
Fax: 718-997-4693
kevin.ferguson@qc.cuny.edu

Research/Teaching Interests

Contemporary American literature, literary theory, film studies

 
Gloria Fisk
Assistant Professor and Co-Director of First Year Writing
Klapper Hall, Room 632
Phone: 718-997-4674
Fax: 718-997-4693
gloria.fisk@qc.cuny.edu


The novel in the 20th and 21st centuries; global studies, translation theory, expository writing, the essay

 
Thomas Frosch
Professor
Klapper Hall, Room 502
Phone: 718-997-4652
Fax: 718-997-4693
thomas.frosch@qc.cuny.edu

Research/Teaching Interests

Romanticism, Freud and literature, myth and literature

 
Fred L. Gardaphe
Distinguished Professor in English and Italian American Studies
John D. Calandra Italian American Institute, Room 1700
Phone: 212-642-2037
Fax: 718-997-4693
Fred.Gardaphe@qc.cuny.edu

Research/Teaching Interests

Irony and Humor, Italian American Culture, U.S. American Working Class Culture, U.S. American Ethnic Literature (especially Italian American Literature), film and television, masculinity studies, creative writing

 
Sue Goldhaber
Lecturer
Kiely Hall, Room 127
Phone: 718-997-5668
Fax: 718-997-4693
sue.goldhaber@qc.cuny.edu


English as a second language, multiculturalism, composition and theory

 
Miles Parks Grier
Assistant Professor
Klapper Hall, Room 734
Phone: 718-997-4703
Fax: 718-997-4693
miles.grier@qc.cuny.edu

Research/Teaching Interests

Print and manuscript culture; theatre and performance studies; popular music studies; gender, race, sexuality in political and economic context; history of racial profiling; history of slavery and freedom; African American literature and culture

 
Kimiko Hahn
Distinguished Professor
Klapper Hall, Room 702
Phone: 718-997-4712
Fax: 718-997-4693
kimiko.hahn@qc.cuny.edu


Writing, Poetry and Poetics, Ethnic Studies, Translation (especially, Japanese literature), Women’s Studies.

 
Jessica Harris
Professor (SEEK)
Delaney Hall, Room 122
Phone: 718-997-3126
Fax: 718-997-4693
jessica.harris@qc.cuny.edu


Culinary history, African cultural retentions in the African Diaspora (including but not limited to food, dress, architecture, decorative arts, and religion)

 
Carrie Hintz
Associate Professor
Klapper Hall, Room 616
Phone: 718-997-4677
Fax: 718-997-4693
carrie.hintz@qc.cuny.edu

Research/Teaching Interests

17th- and 18th-century literature, utopian and dystopian writing, life writing, literature for children and young adults

 
Caroline Kyungah Hong
Assistant Professor and Assistant Director of Graduate Studies
Klapper Hall, Room 636
Phone: 718-997-4687
Fax: 718-997-4693
caroline.hong@qc.cuny.edu


Asian American studies, comedy and humor, ethnic studies, women writers of color, gender and sexuality studies, race and popular culture (esp. film, TV, and comics/graphic narratives), American studies

 
Ahktar Khan
Lecturer (SEEK)
Delaney Hall, Room 124
Phone: 718-997-3120
Fax: 718-997-4693
amkqc@hotmail.com


Asian American literature

 
Steven Kruger
Professor
Klapper Hall, Room 343
Phone: 718-997-4631
Fax: 718-997-4693
skruger@qc.cuny.edu

Research/Teaching Interests

Medieval studies, lesbian/gay/queer studies

 
Natalie M. Léger
Assistant Professor
Klapper Hall, Room 733
Phone: 718-997-4621
Fax: 718-997-4693
nleger@qc.cuny.edu


Caribbean literature, postcolonial literature and theory, literature of the Black Diaspora, Haitian literature and culture, Black women writers and feminist theory

 
Richard McCoy
Professor
Klapper Hall, Room 732
Phone: 718-997-4656
Fax: 718-997-4693
richard.mccoy@qc.cuny.edu


Early Modern poetry and fiction, Shakespeare, Medieval and Renaissance drama, Reformation thought and Tudor-Stuart history and politics

 
Maaza Mengiste
Visiting Assistant Professor
Klapper Hall, Room 703
Phone: 718-997-4603
Fax: 718-997-4693
maaza.mengiste@gmail.com



 
Wayne Moreland
Lecturer
Klapper Hall, Room 619
Phone: 718-997-4846
Fax: 718-997-4693
wayne.moreland@qc.cuny.edu


African American literature, 19th and 20th century literature, poetry, narrative theory, post-colonial literatures in English, politics and literature

 
William Orchard
Assistant Professor
Klapper Hall, Room
Phone: 718-997-
Fax: 718-997-4693
william.orchard@gmail.com


Latino/a literature, contemporary American literature, visual culture, ethnic studies, gender and sexuality studies

 
David Richter
Professor
Klapper Hall, Room 639
Phone: 718-997-4667
Fax: 718-997-4693
david.richter@qc.cuny.edu
Personal Home Page
Research/Teaching Interests

The Eighteenth Century, Literary Theory, Biblical Narrative

 
Cicely Rodway
Assistant Professor (SEEK)
Delany Hall, Room 114
Phone: 718-997-3119
Fax: 718-997-4693
Cicely.Rodway@qc.cuny.edu


Immigrant and unprepared college students, composition and creative writing, developmental reading and study skills, ESL

 
Michael Sargent
Professor
Klapper Hall, Room
Phone: 718-997-4662
Fax: 718-997-4693
michael.sargent@qc.cuny.edu


Medieval literature and cultural studies (especially the 15th century)

 
Talia Schaffer
Associate Professor
Klapper Hall, Room 614
Phone: 718-997-4675
Fax: 718-997-4693
talia.schaffer@qc.cuny.edu


Late 19th and 20th century British literature, women’s writing, popular and non-canonical Victorian literature, material culture

 
Veronica Schanoes
Assistant Professor
Klapper Hall, Room 613
Phone: 718-997-
Fax: 718-997-4693
veronica.schanoes@qc.cuny.edu

Research/Teaching Interests

Children’s literature, fairy tales, myth, fantasy, revision, women’s writing, feminist theory, psychoanalytic theory, interstitial art, creative writing

 
Harold Schechter
Professor
Klapper Hall, Room 502
Phone: 718-997-4651
Fax: 718-997-4693
harold.schechter@qc.cuny.edu
Personal Home Page

HAROLD SCHECHTER has published thirty-six books, among them a half-dozen nonfiction true crime narratives and a series of mystery novels featuring Edgar Allan Poe. His essays have appeared in various newspapers and magazines, including the  New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, the Los Angeles Times, and the International Herald Tribune. He is also the editor of the Library of America volume, True Crime: An American Anthology.

 
Richard Schotter
Professor
Klapper Hall, Room 705
Phone: 718-997-4715
Fax: 718-997-4693
richard.schotter@qc.cuny.edu



 
Roger Sedarat
Associate Professor and Associate Chair
Klapper Hall, Room 603
Phone: 718-997-4607
Fax: 718-997-4693
roger.sedarat@qc.cuny.edu
Personal Home Page
Research/Teaching Interests

Creative Writing (Poetry), Literary Translation, American Literature, Poetics

 
Sian Silyn Roberts
Assistant Professor and Assistant to the Chair
Klapper Hall, Room 601
Phone: 718-997-4677
Fax: 718-997-4693
sian.silynroberts@qc.cuny.edu

Research/Teaching Interests

Late 18th- and 19th-century American literature, circumAtlantic theory and criticism, Enlightenment philosophy, contemporary political philosophy, biopolitics, the gothic novel

 
Rhoda Sirlin
Lecturer
Klapper Hall, Room 709
Phone: 718-997-4261
Fax: 718-997-4693
bklynheights@hotmail.com


American literature (fiction and drama), World drama, film and literature, Holocaust fiction, American Studies, contemporary American fiction, literary biography

 
Judith Summerfield
Professor/Dean of General Education
Razran Hall, Room 314
Phone: 718-997-4279
Fax: 718-997-4278
judith.summerfield@qc.cuny.edu


Composition and Rhetoric, Narrative Studies, Higher Education

 
Jason Tougaw
Associate Professor
Klapper Hall, Room 633
Phone: 718-997-
Fax: 718-997-4693
jason.tougaw@qc.cuny.edu

Research/Teaching Interests

Literature and Psychology, especially Neuroscience (including Consciousness Studies and Dream Theory), Creative Nonfiction, History and Theory of the Novel, Memoir and Autobiography

 
Amy Tucker
Professor
Klapper Hall, Room 735
Phone: 718-997-4705
Fax: 718-997-4693
amy.tucker@qc.cuny.edu


American Studies, 20th century American literature, composition theory

 
John Tytell
Professor
Klapper Hall, Room 505
Phone: 718-997-4654
Fax: 718-997-4693
john.tytell@qc.cuny.edu


American literature

 
Andrea Walkden
Assistant Professor and Director of Graduate Studies
Klapper Hall, Room 643 and 604
Phone: 718-997-4663
Fax: 718-997-4693
andrea.walkden@qc.cuny.edu

Research/Teaching Interests

16th and 17th century poetry and fiction, Shakespeare and drama, European Renaissance literature and culture, life writing, history of the book

 
Amy Wan
Assistant Professor and Co-Director of First Year Writing
Klapper Hall, Room 641
Phone: 718-997-4673
Fax: 718-997-4693
amy.wan@qc.cuny.edu

Research/Teaching Interests

Rhetoric and composition; literacy studies; citizenship theory; pedagogy; creative non-fiction.

 
Joyce Warren
Professor
Klapper Hall, Room 609
Phone: 718-997-4620
Fax: 718-997-4693
joyce.warren@qc.cuny.edu

Research/Teaching Interests

American literature, 19th century women writers, Women’s Studies

 
Bette S. Weidman
Associate Professor and Director of American Studies
Klapper Hall, Room 345
Phone: 718-997-4633
Fax: 718-997-4693
bette.weidman@qc.cuny.edu

Research/Teaching Interests

Antebellum 19th-century American literature, post-Civil War American literature, Native American Indian literature, Emily Dickinson, Herman Melville, oral history, Long Island history and literature

 
Karen Weingarten
Assistant Professor and Co-Director of First Year Writing
Klapper Hall, Room 641
Phone: 718-997-4673
Fax: 718-997-
karen.weingarten@qc.cuny.edu

Research/Teaching Interests

American literature from 1850-1950, critical theory, women’s and gender studies, writing studies and digital pedagogies.

 
John Weir
Associate Professor
Klapper Hall, Room 322A
Phone: --
Fax: 718-997-4693
jweirdo@yahoo.com


Creative writing (fiction)

 
Gordon Whatley
Professor
Honors Hall , Room 20B
Phone: 718-997-4702
Fax: 718-997-4693
e.whatley@qc.cuny.edu


Medieval literature, especially saints’ lives in Old English, Middle English, and Latin, emphasizing translation and textuality

 
Chastity Whitaker
Lecturer (SEEK)
Delaney Hall, Room 117
Phone: 718-997-2984
Fax: 718-997-4693
chastitywhitaker@gmail.com


The American South, working-class literature, oral history, autobiography, civil rights literature, narrative forms, fiction writing, the personal/narrative essay, first-year composition

 
Evan Zimroth
Professor, Associate Director of Jewish Studies
Klapper Hall, Room 503
Phone: 718-997-4653
Fax: 718-997-4693
evan.zimroth@qc.cuny.edu


Literature of the Holocaust (especially fiction, poetry, and memoir), Jewish fiction, modern and contemporary poetry, literature of the Bible
 
 

 Office Information

 
Chair: Glenn Burger
Office: Klapper Hall 607
Phone: 718-997-4600


 

 Full-Time Faculty List

 
     



Queens College, CUNY| 65-30 Kissena Blvd.| Queens, NY 11367-1597| Phone: (718) 997-5000 Copyright © 2004-
Queens College is CUNY