Academic Senate

Person pointing at a blackboard.

The Academic Senate of Queens College is responsible, subject to the CUNY Board of Trustees, for the formulation of Policies relating to the admission and retention of students, curriculum, granting of degrees, campus life, and the nomination of academic deans. We also establish rules governing the use of the college name by organizations and clubs, make our own bylaws consistent with the bylaws of CUNY’s trustees, and conduct the educational affairs customarily overseen by a college faculty.

The 60 senators (40 full-time faculty members and 20 undergraduate and graduate students) and 60 alternates are elected by faculty and students. The additional nonvoting ex officio members have privileges of the floor, make motions, take part in debates, and enjoy all the other privileges of membership except for voting and being an officer. Faculty senators/alternates serve a two-year term, with half elected each year. Student senators/alternates serve for a year.

Our 11 standing committees address such areas as teaching excellence and evaluation, international student affairs, and undergraduate admissions and re-entry standards. There are also special committees and college committees.

As a representative body, we actively solicit your input and questions. Contact us through our website or by communicating with your college or department senator.

Office Information

Academic Senate
Kiely Hall Room 141

Kevin Ferguson, Chair of the Queens College Academic Senate

Katarzyna Zajac, Interim Administrative Coordinator

Important Dates

  • Queens College Academic Senate Executive Committee – Thursday, August 29, 2024 at 3 p.m. in Kiely Hall, room 141
  • Queens College Academic Senate – Thursday, September 12, 2024 at 3:35 p.m. in Kiely Hall, room 170