Sign In

[X] Login to ...

Home > Academics > Divisions > Arts and Humanities > Linguistics and Communication Disorders
Linguistics and Communication Disorders

Faculty

Robert Vago
Chair and Director of Undergraduate and Graduate Programs in Linguistics
Robert Vago, Professor
PhD, 1974, Harvard University
Phonology and language attrition
718-997-2875
robert.vago@qc.cuny.edu
Queens Hall 300B

Associate Chair and Director of Communication Sciences and Disorders Programs, Director of the Speech-Language Hearing Center
Arlene Kraat, Associate Professor
MA, 1970, Indiana University
Augmentative communication, adult acquired language and speech disorders
Fellow, ASHA
718-997-2940
arlene.kraat@qc.cuny.edu
Queens Hall 300A2

Clinical Coordinator, Associate Director and Admissions Coordinator of Graduate Program in Speech-Language Pathology
Patricia McCaul, Lecturer
MA, 1988, Hunter College
ASHA CCC-SLP
Childhood speech, language and neuromotor disorders
718-997-2936
patricia.mccaul@qc.cuny.edu
Gertz Bldg.

Coordinator of Undergraduate Program in Communication Sciences & Disorders
Karen Ball, Lecturer
MS, 1982, Sargent College of Allied Health Professions, Boston University
ASHA CCC-SLP
Dysphagia, adult communication disorders
718-997-2946
karen.ball@qc.cuny.edu
Queens Hall 301C

Kathy Downing, Instructor
MA, 1991, Queens College
ASHA CCC-SLP
Child speech-language disorders
718-997-2946
kathleen.downing@qc.cuny.edu
Gertz Bldg.

Megan Dunn Davison, Assistant Professor
PhD, 2008, The Pennsylvania State University
Child language development and disorders, literacy
718-997-0787
megan.dunndavison@qc.cuny.edu
Queens Hall 350E

Eva M. Fernández, Associate Professor
Director, Center for Teaching and Learning
PhD, 2000, CUNY Graduate Center
Bilingualism, psycholinguistics and instructional technology
718-997-2867
eva.fernandez@qc.cuny.edu
Queens Hall 345J (CTL: Razran 316)

Robert W. Fiengo, Professor
PhD, 1974, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Syntax and the acquisition of syntax
718-997-2876
robert.fiengo@qc.cuny.edu
Queens Hall 335D

Stanley A. Gelfand, Professor
PhD, 1973, City University of New York
CCC-A/SLP
Speech perception, acoustic immitance and reverberation
Fellow, ASHA
718-997-2964
stanley.gelfand@qc.cuny.edu
Queens Hall 350C2

Sima Gerber, Associate Professor
PhD, 1987, City University of New York
ASHA CCC-SLP
Pragmatics and child language
718-997-2934
sima.gerber@qc.cuny.edu
Queens Hall 350C2

William Haddican, Assistant Professor
PhD, 2005, New York University
Language change, sociolinguistics, syntax
718-997-2879
william.haddican@qc.cuny.edu
Queens Hall 315G

Harvey Halpern, Professor Emeritus
PhD, 1962, New York University
ASHA CCC-SLP
Speech and language problems of brain-injured adults
Fellow, ASHA
718-997-2963
harvey.halpern@qc.cuny.edu
Queens Hall 315D

Elizabeth Ijalba, Assistant Professor
Principal Investigator, Bilingual Literacy Research Lab
PhD, 2007, CUNY Graduate Center
ASHA CCC-SLP
Communication disorders, impact of bilingualism on disorders of communication and literacy
718-997-2872
elizabeth.ijalba@qc.cuny.edu
Queens Hall 338

Gita Martohardjono, Associate Professor
PhD, 1993, Cornell University
TESOL and applied linguistics
718-997-2878
gmartohardjono@gc.cuny.edu


Kate Menken, Associate Professor
EdD, 2005, Teachers College, Columbia University
TESOL, bilingual education, language policy, and applied linguistics
718-997-2878
kate.menken@qc.cuny.edu
Queens Hall 305D

Cecilia Navarra, Instructor
MA, 2002, Queens College
ASHA CCC-SLP
Language and literacy disorders
718-997-2946
cecilia.navarra@qc.cuny.edu
Gertz Bldg.

Michael Newman, Associate Professor
PhD, 1993, Teachers College, Columbia University
Applied linguistics and sociolinguistics
718-997-2871
michael.newman@qc.cuny.edu
Queens Hall 300D

Yael Neumann-Werth, Assistant Professor
PhD, 2007, CUNY Graduate Center
ASHA CCC-SLP
Speech-language disorders in children and adults, aging
718-997-2870
yael.neumann@qc.cuny.edu
Queens Hall 315F2

Joel Stark, Professor Emeritus
PhD, 1956, New York University
ASHA CCC-SLP
Child language development, language and learning disorders
Honors of the ASHA; Fellow, ASHA
718-997-2932
joel.stark@qc.cuny.edu
Gertz Bldg.

Jennifer Stengel-Mohr, Lecturer
MS, 2001, Queens College
TESOL
718-997-2911
jennifer.stengelmohr@qc.cuny.edu
Queens Hall 305A

Renée Toueg, Lecturer
MS, 1963, Pennsylvania State University
ASHA CCC-SLP
Adult and child speech and language disorders
718-997-2938
renee.toueg@qc.cuny.edu
Gertz Bldg.


Adjunct Faculty

Caroline Barrera-Tobon
Barbara Bevington
Janice Blatt
Rebecca Curinga
Sonia Elliott
Frances Feintuch
Alexander Funk
Rosanne Gangi-Gaertner
Jennifer Klocek
Tyler Peckenpaugh
Rocio Rana-Risso
Mary Ryan
Nadav Sabar
Steffi Schopick
Emily Zane


Faculty Emereti

Charles C. Cairns, Professor Emeritus
PhD, 1968, Columbia University
Phonology, psycholinguistics, adult literacy

Helen S. Cairns, Professor Emerita
PhD, 1970, University of Texas
Adult psycholinguistics and language development in the child

Phillip Schneider, Associate Professor Emeritus
EdD, 1980, Columbia University
ASHA CCC-SLP
Stuttering and vocal articulation

Herbert Seliger, Professor Emeritus
EdD, 1969, Teachers College, Columbia University
Second language acquisition and applied linguistics

Alan Stevens, Professor Emeritus
PhD, 1964, Yale University
Phonology and Indonesian languages

 
 

 Office Information

 
Department Chair: Robert Vago
robert.vago@qc.cuny.edu

Department Office
Queens Hall, Room 300A
Secretary: Maria Cadme
maria.cadme@qc.cuny.edu
Phone: 718-997-2870
Fax: 718-997-2873

To reach us by public transportation, use the Q20A/B, Q44, or Q88 buses. Queens Hall is located at 65-21 Main Street (formerly the CUNY Law School). Visitors must enter using the rear entrance by walking around the south end of the building.

To reach us by walking from the main campus, exit from Gate 6 to Gravett Road (see map) and follow the signs to Queens Hall.

All mail to the department must be addressed to:

Queens Hall, Room 300A
65-30 Kissena Blvd.
Queens, NY 11367-1597

Speech-Language-Hearing Center
Office Assistant: Eileen Sprague
eileen.sprague@qc.cuny.edu
Gertz Building
Phone: 718-997-2930
Phone: 718-997-2946
Fax: 718-997-2935

 

 Related Links

 
     



Queens College, CUNY| 65-30 Kissena Blvd.| Queens, NY 11367-1597| Phone: (718) 997-5000 Copyright © 2004-
Queens College is CUNY