Full Time Faculty

Michael Newman
michael photoDepartment Chair

Professor
Applied linguistics and sociolinguistics
Ed.D, 1993, Teachers College, Columbia University

718-997-2871
michael.newman@qc.cuny.edu
Queens Hall 300D
Appointments Page
Web Page

Karen Ball
Undergraduate CSD & 2nd BA Admissions Coordinator

Lecturer
Dysphagia, neurogenic communication disorders, voice disorders, MPA, ASHA CCC-SLP BCS-S, MS, 1982, Boston University

718-997-2953
karen.ball@qc.cuny.edu
Queens Hall 301C

Dana Calvet
Lecturer
TESOL, Applied Linguistics
MA, MFA, Queens College
Doctoral Candidate, Hunter College

718-997-2963
dana.calvet@qc.cuny.edu
Queens Hall 315D

Bill Haddican

Professor and Director of Undergraduate General Linguistics Programs
Language change, syntax
PhD, 2005, New York University

718-997-2879
william.haddican@qc.cuny.edu
appointments page
Queens Hall 315G
Website

Kathleen Downing
Coordinator – Speech-Language Hearing Clinic
On Leave

Lecturer
Child speech-language disorders, ASHA CCC-SLP
MA, 1991, Queens College

718-997-2946
kathleen.downing@qc.cuny.edu
Kissena Hall 2, Suite 100

Lauren Heffernan
Director of all TESOL / Applied Linguistics Programs

Doctoral Lecturer
TESOL, curriculum development, testing and assessment, literacy
PhD, 2019, St. John’s University

718-997-2918
lauren.heffernan@qc.cuny.edu
Queens Hall 305B

Daniel Kaufman
Associate Professor
Morphology, syntax, phonology
PhD, 2010, Cornell University

Currently on Sabbatical

718-997-0776
daniel.kaufman@qc.cuny.edu
Queens Hall 335C

Mara Steinberg Lowe
Assistant Professor
Neurogenic communication disorders; Neurorehabilitation; Language perception/production, ASHA CCC-SLP
PhD, 2020, New York University

718-997-2967
mara.lowe@qc.cuny.edu
Queens Hall 350B

Patricia McCaul
Director of Graduate Program in Speech-Language Pathology

Lecturer
Childhood speech, language and neuromotor disorders, ASHA CCC-SLP
MA, 1988, Hunter College

718-997-2936
patricia.mccaul@qc.cuny.edu
Kissena Hall 2, Suite 100

Cecilia Navarra
Lecturer
Language and literacy disorders, ASHA CCC-SLP, BCS-CL
MA, 2004, Queens College

Currently on Sabbatical

718-997-2946
cecilia.navarra@qc.cuny.edu
Kissena Hall 2, Suite 100

Renée Toueg
Lecturer
Neurogenic communication disorders, fluency, voice, speech sound disorders and differences
ASHA CCC-SLP
MS, 1963, Pennsylvania State University

718-997-2938
renee.toueg@qc.cuny.edu
Kissena Hall 2, Suite 100

Elizabeth Viccaro
Clinical Professor
Adult speech and language disorders, dementia and dysphagia, ASHA CCC-SLP
PhD, 2017, Adelphi University

718-997-2981
elizabeth.viccaro@qc.cuny.edu
Queens Hall 350E

Sima Gerber

Professor and Associate Chair for Speech-Language Pathology and Communication Sciences and Disorders
Pragmatics and child language, ASHA CCC-SLP
PhD, 1987, City University of New York

718-997-2934
sima.gerber@qc.cuny.edu
Queens Hall

Yael Neumann
Director of Undergraduate Program in Communication Sciences and Disorders

Associate Professor
Neurogenic communication disorders, aphasia, and aging, ASHA CCC-SLP
PhD, 2007, CUNY Graduate Center

718-997-5061
yael.neumann@qc.cuny.edu
Queens Hall 315F2

Salvatore Brienza
SLP Graduate Admissions Coordinator

Lecturer
Childhood apraxia of speech, fluency, child language, ASHA CCC-SLP
MA, 2002, Queens College

718-997-2946
salvatore.brienza@qc.cuny.edu
Kissena Hall 2, Suite 100

Michelle Cassano-Repole
Advisor for MS in Ed in TESOL, Post-Master’s Advanced Certificate in TESOL, MA in Applied Linguistics

Lecturer
Second Language Acquisition and testing and assessment
MS, 2011, Queens College

718-570-0772
michelle.cassanorepole@qc.cuny.edu
Queens Hall 315E

Stanley A. Gelfand
Professor
Speech perception, acoustic immittance, aural rehabilitation, Fellow, ASHA, CCC-A/SLP, FAAA
PhD, 1973, City University of New York

718-997-2964
stanley.gelfand@qc.cuny.edu
Queens Hall 350C2

Elizabeth Ijalba
Director, Bilingual Literacy Research Lab

Associate Professor
Communication disorders, impact of bilingualism on disorders of communication and literacy, ASHA CCC-SLP
PhD, 2007, CUNY Graduate Center

718-997-2872
elizabeth.ijalba@qc.cuny.edu
Queens Hall 338

Khanh Le
Assistant Professor
Multilingual literacies
PhD, 2022, CUNY Graduate Center

Office Queens Hall 300B

Rosanne Gangi-Gartner

Substitute Lecturer

Speech-Language Pathologist
MA Queens College 2019
CCC-SLP

 

Kate Menken
Professor
TESOL, bilingual education, language policy, and applied linguistics
EdD, 2005, Teachers College, Columbia University

718-997-2878
kate.menken@qc.cuny.edu
Queens Hall 305D
Website

Jennifer Stengel-Mohr
Lecturer
TESOL, Applied linguistics
MS, 2001, Queens College

718-997-2877
jennifer.stengelmohr@qc.cuny.edu
Queens Hall 305A

Reid Vancelette

Substitute Lecturer
Syntax and Second Language Acquisition

MPhil, 2022, CUNY Graduate Center

reid.vancelette@qc.cuny.edu
Queens Hall 300B

 

Adjunct Faculty

Administrative Staff

Maria Cadme
Department Secretary

Queens Hall, Room 300A
Email: maria.cadme@qc.cuny.edu
Phone: 718-997-2870
Fax: 718-997-2873

Gail Oswald
College Assistant

Queens Hall, Room 300A
Email: gail.oswald@qc.cuny.edu
Phone: 718-997-2898
Fax: 718-997-2935

Eileen Sprague
Administrative Assistant

Office: Kissena Hall 2, Suite 100
Email: eileen.sprague@qc.cuny.edu
Phone: 718-997-2930 or 718-997-2946
Fax: 718-997-2935

Faculty Emeriti

Charles C. Cairns, Professor Emeritus
Phonology, psycholinguistics, adult literacy
PhD, 1968, Columbia University

Helen S. Cairns, Professor Emerita
Adult psycholinguistics and language development in the child
PhD, 1970, University of Texas

Robert W. Fiengo, Professor Emeritus
Syntax and the acquisition of syntax
PhD, 1974, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Harvey Halpern, Professor Emeritus
Speech and language problems of brain-injured adults, Fellow, ASHA
PhD, 1962, New York University

Elaine Klein, Associate Professor Emerita
TESOL and Applied Linguistics
PhD, 1990, CUNY Graduate Center

Arlene Kraat, Associate Professor Emerita
Augmentative communication, adult acquired language and speech disorders, Fellow, ASHA
Indiana University

 

Gita Martohardjono, Associate Professor Emerita
L2 acquisition, bilingualism, syntax, L1 acquisition, learnability, sociolinguistics
PhD, 1993, Cornell University
(Current Director of the Research Institute for the Study of Language in Urban Society)

Phillip Schneider, Associate Professor Emeritus
Stuttering and vocal articulation
ASHA CCC-SLP

Alan Stevens, Professor Emeritus
Phonology and Indonesian languages
PhD, 1964, Yale University

Robert Vago, Professor Emeritus
Phonology and First Language Attrition
Ph.D. 1974 Harvard University