Navigate Up
Sign In
QC Home Page QC Home Page
A-Z Index

 QC Winning Students 2017


Marshall Foundation

Josephine Cooke, Marshall Scholarship 
Rita Malo, Marshall Finalist

Tamar Lichter, NSF-Graduate Fellowship

Goldwater Foundation

Adina Bechhofer, Barry M Goldwater - Honorable Mention

Jeannette K Watson Foundation 

Renuka Surujnarain, J. K. Watson Fellowship

Institute for International Education

Serena Burton, Freeman Asia Scholarship 
Serena Burton, Gilman Scholarship 
Sarah Franco, Fulbright - Semi-Finalist 

Asian & Pacific Islander American Scholarship, Asian & Pacific Islander American Scholarship Fund 

Bemu Akter
Emily Chan
Lijuan He
Jessica Hong
Ayesha Shahab
Priscella Shek
Ying Xiang
Wenhui Zeng

Jacqueline Schiller Scholarship, CUNY 

Yurie Amma

Chancellor’s Global Scholarship Award, CUNY

Stefania Buitrago
Alexandra Cerone
Anika Chowdhury 
Diaritza Diaz
Angela DiCaterino
Samantha GarciaY
Shirley Lim
Sharon Mejia
Mariely Paredes 
Ayesha Shahab
Vincent Tse

Japan Exchange and Teaching 

l Bagley, JET Finalist
Allison Thorsen, JET Finalist 


NBC Universal Social Hack

Second Place
Ayo Johnson
Hui Lin
Syed Chowdhury
Joseph Huaynate

CUNY Hackathon (Fall 2017)

First Place
Hui Lin

Third Place
Aliza Abbas
Sadia S. Hasan
Farwa Abbas
Noushin Ahmed
Kumkum Ahmed

IBM's Startup Weekend NYC, Blockchain Edition

First Place
Bijie Zhu

CUNY Hackathon (Spring 2018)

First Place
Sang Park
Xin Yuan
John Evangelista

Third Place
Karishma Muni

Best Hack using Open City Data with IBM Tech
Daniel Constantine

eBay Startup Cup

Top 25 eBay Startup Cup
Syed Chowdhury

Perkins Hack

Going The Extra Mile Winners
Margarita Zias
Ayo Johnson
Sumaita Hussain


Third Place
Kevin Reinoso

Verizon Sports/Media/Technology Startup Bootcamp (coordinated by the NYC Media Lab, with a $5,000 grant)

(This award was given to four teams of NYC-based faculty and students who endeavor to build new ventures at the intersection of sports and cutting-edge 5G technologies)

Joseph Huaynate

Luis Medina



Women’s Tennis (Winners of the NCAA East II Region)

Line Sorsdahl Aasen
Emy Alplund
Ruth Artaza Martin
Araceli Bel Aleixendri
Louisa Brunetti
Darya Kolesnichenko
Laura Ortega Jover
Reehan Rashad

Men’s Tennis (Winners of the East Coast Conference Men’s Tennis Championship and NCAA East II Region)

Camilo Arias
Stanislas Bedrune
Miguel Bendito
Hugo Andrade
Cosme Jubera
Roman Laga
Lucas Martinez
Gabriel Mendez
Richard Sec
Nick Volos
Jose Zurro

Women’s Basketball

Beth Bonin – All-Metropolitan Basketball Writers’ Association Second-Team (one of the ten best Division II women’s basketball players in the New York Metropolitan area for the year).

Track and Field (East Coast Conference Outdoor Track and Field Champions)

Erin Leonard
Andrew Saulpaugh



Queens College, CUNY
65-30 Kissena Blvd.
Queens, NY 11367-1597
Phone: (718) 997-5000
Stay Social at QC YouTube Facebook Twitter Gray Bar Calendar MyQC QC Mobile CUNY first Blackboard QC Bookstore QC Campus Store Gray Bar QC Wows!

Click each division to view a complete list of its departments

Adult Collegiate Education | English Language Institute | Professional & Continuing Studies
Summer Session | Weekend College | Winter Session

Resources for Combating Sexual Harassment/Sexual Assault (Title IX)

Queens College is CUNY
DirectionsMap/Directions  |  Emergency Preparedness  |  Working at QC  |  Student Consumer Info  |  A-Z Index  | 
Queens College, CUNY | 65-30 Kissena Blvd. | Queens, NY 11367-1597 | Phone: (718) 997-5000 Copyright © 2004-